Kenny Rogers "The Love of God" Album Review

Kenny Rogers “The Love Of God”


By Christian Scalise


Entertainment icon, singer-songwriter and esteemed actor, “The Gambler” himself, Kenny Rogers celebrates another milestone in his storied career with the release of his first-ever inspirational record titled, “The Love of God.” This also marks the first time that any artist has released a second album through the Cracker Barrel Old Country Store music series; the first was “Kenny Rogers: 50 Years.”


Sold exclusively at all Cracker Barrel Old Country Stores and on their official website, this Gospel themed collection of old favorites is given an entirely new arrangement by Kenny, offering the listener an invigorating experience that is sure to delight the senses.


The record begins with the 1907 classic hymn “Will The Circle Be Unbroken” by Ada R. Habershon, famously re-arranged by A.P. Carter, founding member of legendary country music group, the Carter Family and deemed the signature song of Opry superstar, Roy Acuff. This beloved tune has become an anthem of sorts for the Grand Ole Opry family and institution which is the heart and soul of country music’s very foundation. Kenny and the Harpeth Hills Children’s Choir bring on new life to the revered favorite.


Kenny’s rousing cover of music great Michael McDonald’s “Peace” resounds into a calm and reassuring ballad worthy of praise. His heartfelt and honest approach to the song overwhelms the spirit in all of its great wonder.


Opry favorites The Whites, are featured on “I’ll Fly Away,” new sisterly duo Winfield’s Locket, from Denham Springs, Louisiana make an appearance on “In The Sweet By and By” and Point of Grace join Kenny on “Circle Of Friends,” a song originally recorded by the band and newly covered by Kenny in the studio. Rogers notes that he invited Point of Grace to record the song with him to which they happily obliged.


Additional standouts are a sensational version of Vince Gill’s “The Rock Of Your Love,” Michael W. Smith’s “Grace,” “What A Friend We Have In Jesus,” “Amazing Grace,” “Leaning On The Everlasting Arms” and many more.


Kenny Rogers has created one of the most memorable collections of music to date in his iconic career with this record. His unmistakable smoky vocals sound finer than ever and the passion placed into each song marks a permanent imprint of finesse and admiration to the legacy of his music forevermore.


Your heart and soul will truly be moved and touched by “The Love of God.” Buy this great new record for your family and friends and be inspired. We are proud to give Kenny Rogers’ “The Love Of God” FIVE Stars which it so rightly deserves.


Album info; Produced by Warren Hartman and Kyle Lehning. Executive Producer: Jim Mazza. A&R Director: Jason Henke.



Track Listing:


1. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
2. Peace
3. I’ll Fly Away (featuring The Whites)
4. The Rock Of Your Love
5. In The Sweet By and By (featuring Winfield’s Locket)
6. He Showed Me Love
7. Grace
8. What A Friend We Have In Jesus
9. Circle of Friends (featuring Point of Grace)
10. For The Love of God
11. Amazing Grace
12. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms



You may purchase the album directly from Cracker Barrel’s website here: