Loretta Lynn at Drury Lane Theatre, June 22nd-24th, 2012

“Country Music’s Reigning Lady, Loretta Lynn Graces Drury Lane



By Christian Scalise



Legendary performer, Loretta Lynn headlined the Drury Lane Theatre in Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois for three consecutive sold-out weekend shows on Friday June 22nd, Saturday June 23rd and Sunday June 24th, 2012.


The gorgeous 980 seat theatre exhibited elegance and intimacy. Large crystal chandeliers overlooked comfortable red plush seating inside the proscenium styled venue giving each patron a clear view of the concert stage.


Before the Coal Miner’s Daughter made her grand entrance, her beautiful twin daughters Patsy and Peggy also known as “The Lynns,” opened the show with a selection of songs from their latest record and a few covers. “That’s All I’ve Got To Say,” “Sara” and “One Of These Lonely Nights,” can be found on their album The Lynns II, and the girls take on Don William’s classic, “Tulsa Time” had the audience on their feet. Patsy and Peggy joked around with one particular woman in the front row who might have had just a little too much to drink, but that didn’t stop her from telling them that she is theirs and Loretta’s #1 fan.


It was most recently announced at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN, this past May that Loretta’s fascinating life story will be adapted into a Broadway musical. Hollywood actress Zooey Deschanel, who joined Lynn onstage at the Ryman Auditorium to perform “Coal Miner’s Daughter,” will portray the coveted role. 


As timeless as her vast catalogue of hit songs, the simple girl from Butcher Holler, Kentucky has not changed one bit since her humble beginnings; Lynn’s unmistakable witty sense of humor and vivacious persona shined brighter and bolder than ever at each performance. One would be absolutely amazed at how strong and consistent her distinct vocals remain on the live stage.


Showing no sign of slowing down, Loretta Lynn has proved that age is nothing but a number and just because you can’t get airplay on the radio any longer, neither of those two will stop her from doing what she loves best; sharing her life and songs with her beloved fans.


Lynn wasted no time serving up her awestruck audience with all the hits that they had come to hear. Opening up the show with a rousing version of “They Don’t Make Em’ Like My Daddy Anymore” and “You’re Lookin’ At Country,” the audience immediately rose to their feet with a standing ovation.


The excitement of the evening continued with additional ballads “When A Tingle Becomes A Chill,” “Here I Am Again,” “Blue Kentucky Girl” to more up tempo numbers like the sassy, “You Ain’t Woman Enough,” “I Wanna Be Free,” “Fist City,” One’s On The Way” and “Don’t Come Home A Drinkin’.”


Loretta kidded around with the audience and took personal requests for their favorite song of choice. She also shared the news that music legend Chubby Checker will join her on the weekend of July 5th to perform in honor of the late Conway Twitty at her ranch in Hurricane Mills, TN.


We would also like to mention that there will be a very special Conway Twitty exhibit unveiled on the same weekend in the Coal Miner’s Daughter Museum. Loretta’s personal assistant, Tim Cobb has done an excellent job as curator of the museum through the years. Upon entering the museum, fans are taken on a multi-sensory journey into the life and career of Loretta Lynn complete with personal mementos, awards, outfits, family photos and more. We highly recommend our readers to take a trip down to Tennessee to visit the ranch.


Speaking of Conway, Loretta performed a sensational duet of “Louisiana Woman, Mississippi Man” with her friend and band member, Bart Hansen, at the show. Fans were also treated to a touching version of “She’s Got You,” originally recorded by the great Patsy Cline. During our interview with Loretta earlier in the day, she informed us that after Patsy had a hit with the song; she later recorded it and also had a #1 hit with it in 1977.


Loretta turned the stage over to her backup singers Lee Hilliard, Michael Lusk and Sheldon Feazel to harmonize on country classics “Man Of Constant Sorrow” and then join her on Gospel favorites “Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven,” “Who Says God Is Dead” and “Where No One Stands Alone.”


One of the most significant moments of the night was the strong response that Loretta received from the audience on the patriotic tune, “God Bless America Again.” Loud cheers and solid applause came from the entire theatre, and there were some who even stood up during the song to show their undying love for God and country. Last but not least, the signature song, “Coal Miner’s Daughter” closed out the 2 hour show.


Set List:


1. They Don’t Make ‘Em Like My Daddy Anymore

2. You’re Lookin’ At Country

3. When A Tingle Becomes A Chill

4. I Wanna Be Free

5. Here I Am Again

6. Fist City

7. She’s Got You

8. Crazy

9. Lead Me On

10. Louisiana Woman, Mississippi Man

11. One’s On The Way

12. The Pill

13. Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’

14. Dear Uncle Sam

15. Love Is The Foundation

16. Blue Kentucky Girl

17. Your Squaw Is On The Warpath

18. How Long

19. Man Of Constant Sorrow

20. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven (But Nobody Wants To Die)

21. God Bless America Again

22. Who Says God Is Dead

23. Where No One Stands Alone

24. Coal Miner’s Daughter


Enjoy pictures from the show below. Do not use without prior consent. All images copyrighted to Christian Scalise: