Kellie Pickler at Blue Chip Casino 7.28.2012

America’s favorite Idol visits Blue Chip Casino”


By Christian Scalise


Country music darling Kellie Pickler played to a sold-out crowd of music fans at the Blue Chip Casino’s Star Dust Event Center in Michigan City, Indiana on Saturday July 28th, 2012. Currently on tour in support of her latest album 100 Proof, Kellie has delighted her fan base with a record that resembles the pure and rootsy sounds of the 1960’s and 1970’s era of traditional country music.


Starting the show a little after 8pm, Kellie took the stage and kicked things off with “Little House On The Highway,” “Don’t You Know You’re Beautiful,” and “Makin’ Me Fall In Love Again.” Welcomed by cheers and continuous applause, Kellie told the audience how excited she was to be performing for them and to have new music out. “I hope you like the classics too,” Kellie excitedly told the crowd.


Dressed casually in a yellow and light blue plaid western shirt with a pair of denim jeans and cowgirl boots, Kellie effortlessly worked every angle of the stage with her dazzling charm and warm spirit. She is one of the very few performers that have consistently maintained a unique rapport with her audience, making each person feel part of the show in every way possible. 


Kellie Pickler sure has come a long way from her Idol days. Since finishing sixth place on Season Five, the charming North Carolina native has built a solid relationship with her legion of fans, had both her “Small Town Girl” and “Kellie Pickler” albums debut at number one on the U.S. Top Country Albums charts, received the honor of being named “The Most Beautiful Woman in Country Music” two years in a row by Country Weekly Magazine, garnered numerous nominations for the ACM, ACA, CMA awards, and has been awarded with three ASCAP and three CMT Music Awards. Clearly, there is no stopping this blonde bombshell from attaining additional success on her path to superstardom.


Kellie is a shining example of a modern day country artist that respects and knows the history of those that paved the way before her; Kitty Wells, Loretta Lynn, George Jones, Tammy Wynette, Dolly Parton, and Patsy Cline among many others. It is truly refreshing to see a younger star in the business express genuine admiration and knowledge for the greats of country music. Kellie Pickler is the perfect ambassador for country music and proudly represents its legends. I can only hope and pray that she will become a member of the Grand Ole Opry one day, she surely deserves it and has worked very hard to earn it.  


Giving fans a hefty sample of the new record, Pickler showcased the albums first single, “Tough,” the girls gone bad anthem, “Stop Cheatin’ On Me” with killer pedal steel, the lighthearted “Where’s Tammy Wynette,” “Unlock That Honky Tonk” and “Rockaway (The Rockin’ Chair Song),” written about her first date at Cracker Barrel with husband Kyle Jacobs. The response from the audience was overly positive, which is always reassuring to the artist. As a side note, Kellie told the audience that her husband went back and bought the rocking chairs from Cracker Barrel, carved both their names in them and they now reside on their front porch at their home in Tennessee.


Taking the audience on a trip back to her earlier hits, Kellie performed the rousing and sassy “Things That Never Cross A Man’s Mind,” the sentimental ballad, “Didn’t You Know How Much I Loved You,” “Small Town Girl” and a very impressive cover of country icon Loretta Lynn’s “You Ain’t Woman Enough” and the great George Jone's “White Lightning.” Kellie surprised fans with her delightful cover of the Jones classic coming from a woman’s perspective.


Closing out the evening of story and song, Kellie performed a touching version of “I Wonder,” and then turned the mood around with the up tempo, “Best Days of Your Life.” Taking a bow, Kellie left the stage but before bidding a final farewell, she returned with the song that started it all, “Red High Heels.” After the show, Kellie spent over 30 minutes signing autographs for fans from the stage. The show ended at 9:30pm.


Set List:


1. Little House On The Highway


2. Don’t You Know You’re Beautiful


3. Makin’ Me Fall In Love Again


4. Tough


5. Stop Cheatin’ On Me


6. Where’s Tammy Wynette


7. Things That Never Cross A Man’s Mind


8. Rockaway (The Rockin’ Chair Song)


9. You Ain’t Woman Enough (cover)


10. White Lightning (cover)


11. I Wanna Be Married (I Wanna Be Single Too)


12. Didn’t You Know How Much I Loved You


13. Rocks Instead Of Rice


14. Unlock That Honky Tonk


15. I Wonder


16. Small Town Girl


17. Best Days Of Your Life


18. Red High Heels (encore)


Follow Kellie Pickler on Twitter:



Check out Kellie's music video for "Tough."